Connect with us


Fourth Longest PM in Indian politics,Narendra Modi becomes longest-serving non-Congress prime minister.



Prime Minister Narendra Modi has become the longest-serving non-Congress leader to occupy the office. The prime minister, on August 13, surpassed the tenure of 2,268 days that his BJP senior Atal Bihari Vajpayee had clocked in his three terms combined.

Vajpayee served three terms as prime minister of India. He was first elected as PM in 1996 and was in office for 13 days between May 16 and June 1. His second stint came in 1998, when he served as PM for 13 months between March 1998 and April 1999. This was followed by a five-year term between 1999 and 2004.

PM Modi, who took the oath of the prime minister in May 2014, has now become the fourth longest-serving PM after Jawaharlal Nehru, Indira Gandhi and Manmohan Singh, all belonging to Congress.

India’s first Prime Minister Jawaharlal Nehru, who assumed office on August 15, 1947, stayed in the seat till May 27, 1964, a total of 6,130 days or almost 17 years.

His daughter Indira Gandhi was the second longest-serving PM of India, holding office for almost 11 years. She first assumed office on January 24, 1966, and continued till March 24, 1977. She returned as PM on January 14, 1980, and continued till her assassination on October 31, 1984. She was in the office for 5,829 days.

Manmohan Singh was in office for a decade, between May 22, 2004, and May 26, 2014, a total of 3,656 days.

“Today, PM Narendra Modi becomes the 4th longest-serving Prime Minister in Indian history! He also becomes the longest-serving Indian PM of non-Congress origin. Vajpayee ji served for 2,268 days in all his terms combined. Today PM Modi has surpassed that tenure,” Union minister Jitendra Singh tweeted.

BJP IT department in-charge Amit Malviya also tweeted about the same. “Today, PM Narendra Modi becomes the fourth longest-serving PM in the history of India! He now also holds the distinction of being the longest-serving non-Congress PM. Vajpayee ji served for 2,268 days, with all his terms put together. Today PM Modi has surpassed that duration,” wrote Malviya.


Sunil Gavaskar help MCA to find MS Dhoni’s 2011 World Cup Final Six Ball.



Dhoni’s World Cup-winning six over long-on landed into the Mumbai Cricket Associations (MCA) pavilion at the Wankhede Stadium. Renewed interest in finding the match winning ball were resumed recently as it’s been a decade since it was reported missing.

The incident came to light recently, when MS Dhoni announced his retirement from International cricket on August 15. Mumbai Cricket Association (MCA) Apex Council member Ajinkya Naik had suggested that the seat at Wankhede Stadium should be demarcated and the ball should be found.

Former Indian skipper and batting legend Sunil Gavaskar pitched in and located the ball which Dhoni smashed into MCA’s pavilion.

According to an MCA source, “Gavaskar has informed an MCA Apex Council member that the ball is with a Hong Kong resident who bought it at an ICC auction just after the 2011 World Cup final.”

Recently, the MCA decided to open the Wankhede as a stadium tour experience for fans and tourists. The world-famous cricket and sports venue now be set up as a pit-stop for the Maharashtra Tourism Development Corporation (MTDC) Ltd.

Maharashtra’s Minister of Tourism and Environment, Aditya Thackery, tweeted on Tuesday,

“We at the Tourism Dept had requested @MumbaiCricAssoc to work with us on opening up the Wankhede Stadium for a stadium experience tour to tourists and fans from around the world. They have agreed in principle to work together on the same.”

The MCA had earlier announced to build a museum to showcase Indian and Mumbai cricket’s rich legacy. The MCA has already announced that it will build a museum to showcase the stadium, where India won the World Cup final in 2011 by beating Sri Lanka, and also showcase Indian and Mumbai cricket’s rich history.

Continue Reading