Connect with us


Deficit monsoon hits hydel power output in Karnataka



Bengaluru: Deficit southwest monsoon over a month in the catchment areas of Karnataka has hit power generation from hydel sources in the state, an official said on Wednesday.

According to the meteorology office, the monsoon was 27 percent deficit from June to August 10, with total rainfall being about 400 mm (40 cm) as against normal 660 mm (66 cm).

“Poor monsoon has depleted the combined water storage in our three major hydel reservoirs — Linganamakki, Mani and Supa,” Karnataka Power Corp Ltd (KPCL) managing director M. Maheshwar Rao said.

Linganamakki and Mani dams are in Shivamogga district of Malnad region, about 270 km from Bengaluru. The Supa dam is in Uttara Kannada district, about 500 km from here.

Though the state has a combined installed capacity of 10,189 MW from conventional resources like hydel and thermal stations, generation is around 6,600-7,300 MW due to lower hydro output and breakdown in state and central power generating units.

“Power output declined to 3,200 MW due to outages in coal-based thermal units at Udupi, Raichur and Ballari in the first half of this month,” Rao said.

The state-run KPCL generates most energy in partnership with private producers from Raichur Thermal Power Station (RTPS), Ballari Thermal Power Station (BTPS) and Udupi Power Corp Ltd (UPCL), an independent private producer Lanco-Infratech.





Even after the abolition of Article 370 and reorganization of the then state of Jammu and Kashmir, police in Ladakh had been using its old organisational name as ‘J&K Police’ at all places
Erstwhile known as J&K police, police force in the Union Territory of Ladkah will be henceforth called LADAKH POLICE. An order regarding the change in nomenclature was issued by Inspector General of Police, Ladakh, SS. Khandare, on Saturday
“Wherever organisational name ‘J&K Police’’ is written on any sign boards, police vehicles, letter heads, office stationary, seals and other official items of UT Police should be replaced by the word “LADAKH POLICE’’ in capital letters henceforth’’, the order read.
“No police officer/official shall put on president police collar insignia of J&K Police on uniform,’’ the order further read, adding it has the approval of the competent authority.
Even after the abolition of Article 370 and reorganization of the then state of Jammu and Kashmir into two Union Territories of Jammu & Kashmir and Ladakh, police in Ladakh had been using its old organisational name as ‘J&K Police’ at all places.
On October 31 last year, Jammu and Kashmir was officially bifurcated into the two union territories, marking the beginning of the functioning of the two UTs at a bureaucratic level. On August 5 the same year, the Jammu and Kashmir Reorganization Bill was passed by the Parliament and subsequently became and Act.
Continue Reading