Connect with us


Best performing CM in India for third time in row is Yogi Adityanath.



Uttar Pradesh CM Yogi Adityanath managed to secure 24 per cent of the total votes (6 percentage points up from the last survey), becoming “the best CM” for the third time in a row, according to the recent MOTN survey.

Uttar Pradesh Chief Minister Yogi Adityanath has been voted as the  best CM in the country. This is the third time in a row that the BJP leader is ranked as the best CM. The survey conducted by India Today -Karvy Insights Mood of the Nation (MOTN) has revealed this.

Yogi Adityanath secured 24% of the total votes to become “the best CM” for the third time in a row. His votes were up by 6% from the last survey.

According to the latest survey, six of the seven top-performing chief ministers are from non-BJP and non-Congress parties. Mamata Banerjee (West Bengal), who has previously been ranked as the number one CM for three times in a row, has slipped to the fourth position (with 9% votes) after Delhi Chief Minister Arvind Kejriwal (15%t votes) and Andhra Pradesh Chief Minister YS Jagan Mohan Reddy (11% votes). But the only CPM CM Pinarayi Vijayan of Kerala was not even came in the list.

The MOTN poll was conducted between July 15, 2020, and July 27, 2020.The poll was conducted among
12,021 people — 67% in rural and 33% in urban areas — spread across 97 parliamentary constituencies and 194 assembly constituencies in 19 states — Andhra Pradesh, Assam, Bihar, Chhattisgarh, Delhi, Gujarat, Haryana, Jharkhand, Karnataka, Kerala, Madhya Pradesh, Maharashtra, Odisha, Punjab, Rajasthan, Tamil Nadu, Telangana, Uttar Pradesh and West Bengal.


Rajya Sabha: 8 Opposition MPs suspended in Farmer Bills Chaos.



Eight Opposition MPs were suspended from the Rajya Sabha for remainder of the Monsoon Session, on account of their “unruly behavior” and “grossly disordered conduct” in the House yesterday. Chair Venkaiah Naidu has suspended the following MPs after a motion moved in that direction was passed by a voice vote:

Derek O’ Brien (TMC)

Sanjay Singh (AAP)

Rajeev Satav (Congress)

KK Ragesh (CPI(M))

Syed Naseer Hussain (Congress)

Ripun Bora (Congress)

Dola Sen (AITC)

Elamaram Kareem (CPI(M))

On Sunday, the Opposition members alleged that the Farmers Bills were being passed in hasty manner . They cried foul over the passing of the Bills with a voice vote, denying their demand for a division for voting.
As alleged by MP Derek O’ Brien, several MPs had sought a Division on the Bill however, they were denied the right by the Deputy Chair, Harivansh Narayan Singh.

When the issue was taken up by Chair Venkaiah Naidu today, he alleged that the Deputy was verbally attacked, and the Division could not take place due to “disruption of the House”.

He alleged that the above named Members abused the Deputy with “objectionable words”, threw papers at him, threw a Rule book at him, wrenched his mic and obstructed him from performing his duties. Calling it a “very bad day for Rajya Sabha,” he asked the suspended Members to leave the Chambers. However, the Opposition continued to protest and since the suspended MPs refused to leave the Chambers, the house has been adjourned for some time.

It may be noted that the 47 MPs from the Opposition, including their Leader, Ghulam Nabi Azad, had moved a no confidence motion for removal of the Deputy Chair. They had alleged that the Deputy willingly denied them the right to seek Division, which forced them to enter the well and create a ruckus.

However, the Chair clarified that any such motion can be moved only with a 14 days advance notice, as per the mandate of Article 90 of the Constitution. The Chair noted that the Session is scheduled to adjourn on October 1. Thus 14 days’ notice has not been served and the motion is  “not admissible”.







Continue Reading