Connect with us

Top News

1984 riots: Sajjan’s plea seeking more time rejected



The Delhi High Court on Friday rejected a plea seeking more time to surrender by former Congress leader Sajjan Kumar, who was given life imprisonment in an anti-Sikh riot case earlier this week.

Sajjan Kumar had sought more time to surrender so he could settle some family matters, as the court ordered him behind bars for the rest of his remaining life.

A Division Bench of Justices S. Muralidhar and Vinod Goel asked him to surrender by December 31.
Image result for 1984 riots: Sajjan's plea seeking more time rejected
Claiming his innocence, Sajjan Kumar had requested the court to grant him 30 more days so that he could settle certain property matter and meet his close relatives.

In his plea, the 73-year-old said that he has a big family that includes besides his wife, three children and eight grandchildren.

The Delhi High Court on Monday convicted Kumar in an anti-Sikh riot case of 1984 and sentenced him to imprisonment for the remainder of his natural life. The court asked him to surrender till December 31.

Sajjan Kumar said he was shocked and surprised by the judgement as trial court had acquitted him in the case.

Image result for 1984 riots: Sajjan's plea seeking more time rejected

He told the High Court that he would appeal in the Supreme Court challenging its order and therefore he needed time to engage senior lawyers.

He also told the court that most senior counsels were on holiday as the apex court was closed due to winter vacation.

He informed the court that he was out on bail in the 1984 cases and never flouted any bail conditions or hampered investigation and has cooperated with the probe agencies.

Sajjan Kumar and the others were charged with the killing of five Sikhs — Kehar Singh, Gurpreet Singh, Raghuvender Singh, Narender Pal Singh and Kuldeep Singh — who were members from the same family — by a mob in Delhi Cantonment’s Raj Nagar area in the wake of former Prime Minister Indira Gandhi’s assassination by her Sikh bodyguards on October 31, 1984.


Car manufacturer Maruti Suzuki is giving heavy discounts on its automobiles: See here



Maruti Suzuki is India’s largest carmaker. The brand sells the highest number of cars in the Indian market. Adding to the same point is the fact that the top five best selling cars last month were Maruti Suzuki vehicles. This though is no fail proof plan that each month the cars will continue selling no matter what. To this very effect, Maruti Suzuki dealerships are offering discounts on their cars. Each and every model in the Maruti Suzuki Arena dealership gets a discount. For example, the least priced offering from the manufacturer, the Maruti Suzuki Alto gets a cash discount of Rs 15,000 whereas if one were to exchange their old car then an additional Rs 15,000 off will be provided. On the Celerio X, a few dealers are willing to give up to Rs 10,000 cash discount whereas on the Celerio, the offer is for Rs 15,000. However the Rs 15,000 is only available as exchange bonus.

Also Read Maruti Suzuki S-Presso review

On the Maruti Suzuki S-Presso, the cash discount is for Rs 12,000 and on the WagonR, it is for Rs 10,000. It may be noted that the CNG versions of these cars do not come with any discounts. On the base Maruti Suzuki Swift Lxi version and the Lxi (O), customers will get up to Rs 30,000 discount. Those dealers who have the pre-facelift model are willing to add an additional Rs 5,000 as part of the discounts. If one opts for the Vxi and above trims of the new model, then Rs 10,000 cash discount is being given.

On the Maruti Suzuki Dzire, customers stand to get no discounts on the top trims. On the base versions, Rs 5,000 discount is being offered. Same is the case with the Maruti Vitara Brezza but here the higher variants get Rs 10,000 off. There are no discounts on the Maruti Suzuki Ertiga. Depending on the model, customers might end up getting exchange bonus varying from Rs 10,000-20,000. Add Rs 5,000 corporate discount to the mix as well.

Continue Reading
Advertisement Live Uttar Pradesh